Margret Hoppe: Südwall

07 November – 19 December 2020
Opening: 2 – 7 pm

 

+
Release of the original graphic postcard box of Land in Sicht e.V.

With silkscreen and linoleum prints by: Anna Haifisch, Christoph Ruckhäberle, David Schnell, Franziska Holstein, Katharina Immekus, Maria Schumacher, Matthias Weischer, Sebastian Speckmann.

Artist talk and catalogue presentation: 19 November, 7 pm

Rough, rocky coastal landscape with parched grasses, stony walls and bending pines in the wind – a silence emanates from these pictures at first. One seems to linger in a completely paused moment, absorbing the atmosphere of the place. Against the habits of rapid consumption, photographer Margret Hoppe forces us to pause and take a closer look, because only in this way the story opens up to us.

“Südwall” tells of a German-French past during the Second World War. Military bunkers along the entire Mediterranean coast served the Germans as a defense against the Allies. Around Marseille, the remains of the bunkers still exist and fit almost casually into the landscape. Margret Hoppe is less concerned with the object itself than with integrating it into its surroundings. In addition, the artist examines the significance of Marseille as a city of exile, which for many intellectuals and artists* served as a refuge with hope for freedom.
In her works, Margret Hoppe deals primarily with landscapes, architecture and spaces that tell unique stories. Through a precise and at the same time sensitive gaze, she manages to emphasize the independent aspects without taking possession of the scenery.
With “Südwall” Margret Hoppe documents not only the past, but at the same time the present.

Margret Hoppe (*1983 in Greiz, Thuringia) lives and works in Leipzig. From 2000-2009 she studied with Prof. Timm Rautert and Prof. Christopher Muller at the Academy of Visual Arts (HGB) Leipzig. Margret Hoppe is represented in numerous private and public collections in Germany and abroad, such as the Staatsgalerie Stuttgart, the Photographic Collection of the Museum Folkwang Essen, the Fotomuseum Winterthur, the Wende Museum Los Angeles and the Museum of Fine Arts (MdbK) Leipzig.
The project “Südwall” was created in 2020 with the support of the Goethe Institute Marseille, Le Garage Photographie Marseille and the Collection Regard. In the same year she is part of the “Resonance. Artists on Niemeyer”- exhibition in the Techne Sphere, Halle 9 Leipzig. In 2018 Margret Hoppe exhibited in the exhibition “Visions of Modernity Today” at the Museum of Photography Braunschweig. In recent years her works have been shown at the Kunsthaus Dresden, Künstlerhaus Bethanien Berlin and Deichtorhallen Hamburg.

Margret Hoppe: Südwall

07. November – 19. Dezember 2020
Eröffnung: 14 – 19 Uhr

 

+
Release der originalgrafischen Postkartenmappe von Land in Sicht e.V.

Mit Siebdrucken und Linoldrucken von: Anna Haifisch, Christoph Ruckhäberle, David Schnell, Franziska Holstein, Katharina Immekus, Maria Schumacher, Matthias Weischer, Sebastian Speckmann.

Artist Talk und Katalog Präsentation: 19. November, 19 Uhr

Raue, felsige Küstenlandschaft mit ausgedörrten Gräsern, steinige Gemäuer und sich biegende Kiefern im Wind – es ist zunächst eine Stille, die von diesen Bildern ausgeht. Es scheint als würde man in einem komplett angehaltenen Augenblick verweilen und die Atmosphäre des Ortes in sich aufnehmen. Gegen die Gewohnheiten des schnellen Konsumierens zwingt uns die Fotografin Margret Hoppe zu einem Innehalten und genauerem Hinsehen, denn nur so erschließt sich uns die Geschichte.

„Südwall“ erzählt von einer deutsch-französischen Vergangenheit während des Zweiten Weltkrieges. Militärische Bunkeranlagen an der gesamten Mittelmeerküste dienten für die Deutschen als Verteidigungsanlage gegen die Alliierten. Um Marseille sind die Reste der Bunker immer noch vorhanden und fügen sich fast beiläufig in das Landschaftsbild ein. Dabei geht es Margret Hoppe weniger um das Objekt an sich, als um die Integration dessen in seine Umgebung. Darüber hinaus untersucht die Künstlerin die Bedeutung Marseilles als Exilstadt, die für viele Intellektuelle und Künstler*innen als Zufluchtsort mit Hoffnung auf Freiheit diente.
Margret Hoppe beschäftigt sich in ihren Arbeiten vordergründig mit Landschaften, Architekturen und Räumen, die jeweils einzigartige Geschichten erzählen. Durch einen präzisen und zugleich sensiblen Blick schafft sie es, das Eigenständige zu betonen ohne sich der Szenerie zu bemächtigen. 
Mit „Südwall“ dokumentiert Margret Hoppe nicht nur das Verschwundene, sondern gleichzeitig das Jetzt.

 
Margret Hoppe (*1983 in Greiz, Thüringen) lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig. Von 2000-2009 studierte sie bei Prof. Timm Rautert und Prof. Christopher Muller an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst (HGB) Leipzig. Margret Hoppe ist in zahlreichen privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen im In- und Ausland vertreten, wie etwa in der Staatsgalerie Stuttgart, der Fotografischen Sammlung des Museums Folkwang Essen, dem Fotomuseum Winterthur, dem Wende Museums Los Angeles und dem Museum der Bildenden Künste (MdbK) Leipzig. 
Das Projekt „Südwall“ entstand 2020 mit der Unterstützung des Goethe Institut Marseille, Le Garage Photographie Marseille und der Collection Regard. Im selben Jahr ist sie Teil der „Resonance. Artists on Niemeyer“- Ausstellung in der Techne Sphere, Halle 9 Leipzig. 2018 stellte Margret Hoppe in der Ausstellung „Visionen der Moderne heute“ im Museum für Photographie Braunschweig aus. In den letzten Jahren wurden ihre Arbeiten im Kunsthaus Dresden, dem Künstlerhaus Bethanien Berlin und den Deichtorhallen Hamburg gezeigt.