Benjamin Appel: Keller mit Garten

18 September – 23 October 2021

Opening
18 September, 12 – 8 pm
19 September, 12 – 4 pm

The space that human creates is the rectangle, as is the captured moment in photography, and the canvas also exhibits this typically angular shape. The rectangle is omnipresent in the human world, and likewise it forms a central point of departure in Benjamin Appel’s work.

Rectangles pile up on his canvases, and there is no limit to their colorfulness. In Appel’s works there is nothing suggestive, nothing representational. The blue surface remains a blue surface and not an image of it. The structure is also really the material, which builds up in lines, waves, edges and surfaces on the canvas, superimposed and set apart from each other, becoming an object in its own right. Text and painting here form equal components without being related to each other or depicting each other.
Thus, the wallpaper depicting a beach shot is, in the end, also just a wallpaper: two-dimensional and flat on the wall. The repetition of the motif here transcends the illusion and signals that it is an illustration. Appel’s rectangular object, on the other hand, feels like the accessible surface of a special room from his living world. Disruptive elements such as furniture are cut out.

Benjamin Appel explores how far he can go in order not to depict anything representational. At the same time, he tries to make as few aesthetic decisions as possible. The wallpaper goes on the wall, because this is its conventional handling, and the object is made of drywall, because this is also the material of the room in which it stands.
It’s a reduction to the bare essentials, where all the individual fragments become part of a comprehensive installation.
[Laura Gerstmann, 2021]

Benjamin Appel, born 1978 in Augsburg, lives and works in Leipzig. From 2003 to 2010, he studied at the Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe with Gerd van Dülmen, Thomas Zipp and Daniel Roth. He received, among others, the 2018 working scholarship of the Stiftung Kunstfonds, Bonn, the 2012 Förderpreis awarded by Forumkunst Karlsruhe, the 2009 Hector Förderpreis of the Kunsthalle Mannheim and was a prizewinner of the Akademie Karlsruhe. Benjamin Appel’s work has been featured in numerous solo exhibitions, including Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Chile (2019), Guangdong Museum of Art, China (2018), and Galerie der Stadt Sindelfingen (2017).

Benjamin Appel: Keller mit Garten

18. September – 23. Oktober 2021

Eröffnung
18. September, 12 – 20 Uhr
19. September 12 – 16 Uhr

Der Raum, den der Mensch konstruiert, ist das Rechteck, ebenso der festgehaltene Moment in der Fotografie und auch die Leinwand weist diese typisch kantige Form auf. Das Rechteck ist omnipräsent in der menschlichen Welt, und ebenso bildet es in Benjamin Appels Arbeit einen zentralen Ausgangspunkt.
Auf seinen Leinwänden stapeln sich die Rechtecke, denen in ihrer Farbigkeit keine Grenze gesetzt sind. In Appels Arbeiten gibt es nichts andeutendes, nichts darstellendes. Die blaue Fläche bleibt eine blaue Fläche und kein Abbild davon. Die Struktur ist auch wirklich das Material, welches sich in Linien, Wellen, Kanten und Flächen auf der Leinwand aufbaut, überlagert und voneinander absetzt und dabei zu einem eigenen Objekt wird. Text und Malerei bilden hierbei gleichwertige Komponenten ohne in Beziehung zueinander zu stehen oder sich gegenseitig abzubilden.
So ist die Tapete mit der Darstellung einer Strandaufnahme am Ende auch nur eine Tapete: zweidimensional und flach auf der Wand. Die Wiederholung des Motivs überführt hierbei die Illusion und signalisiert, dass es sich um eine Abbildung handelt. Appels rechteckiges Objekt hingegen empfindet die begehbare Fläche eines speziellen Raumes aus seiner Lebenswelt dar. Störelemente wie Möbel sind ausgeschnitten.
Benjamin Appel lotet aus, wie weit kann er gehen, um nichts Darstellendes abzubilden. Gleichzeitig versucht er so wenig ästhetische Entscheidungen wie möglich zu treffen. Die Tapete kommt an die Wand, da dies deren konventionelle Handhabung ist und das Objekt besteht aus Trockenbau, weil dies auch das Material des Raumes ist, in dem es steht.
Es ist eine Reduktion auf das Nötigste, bei der alle einzelnen Fragmente Teil einer umfassenden Installation werden.

[Laura Gerstmann, 2021]

Benjamin Appel, geboren 1978 in Augsburg, lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig. Von 2003 bis 2010 studierte er an der der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe bei Gerd van Dülmen, Thomas Zipp und Daniel Roth. Er erhielt u.a. 2018 das Arbeitsstipendium der Stiftung Kunstfonds, Bonn, 2012 den Förderpreis verliehen von der Forumkunst Karlsruhe, 2009 den Hector Förderpreis der Kunsthalle Mannheim und war Preisträger der Akademie Karlsruhe. Benjamin Appels Arbeiten waren in zahlreichen Einzelausstellungen zu sehen, wie etwa dem Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Chile (2019), Guangdong Museum of Art, China (2018) und der Galerie der Stadt Sindelfingen (2017).